Films: Guardians of the Galaxy

Standard

GuardiansI have just got home from watching Guardians of the Galaxy, one film I’m not completely late in seeing, hooray! I enjoyed this film immensely, I can’t even put it into words, I just want to scream.

At the beginning, I was very much confused. I had no idea how this unusual beginning was relevant, but as soon as the film got going I was stuck to the cinema screen. Everything was tied together perfectly, nothing was left out and even the seemingly random jokes were part of a bigger picture.

I absolutely loved the characters. I loved them so much. They were all so different and yet they worked so well together. The character arc of the main protagonist, Peter Quill, was extraordinary. I honestly thought that we learnt so much about him through the simplest things and it was amazing that everything tied into him accepting his past, while it was wonderful that he was also able to laugh at himself in the most serious of situations.

I’m sure everyone has heard about Groot by now. His character conveyed so much despite the fact he only used five different words in the entirety of the film. This isn’t me ‘dissing’ the film either; Groot’s lack of vocabulary was entirely intentional and was very cleverly done to provide comic relief.

Guardians of the Galaxy had everything; action, adventure, fantasy, sci-fi, comedy and a little bit of romance.

And finally, the actors! I know I seem to say it a lot, but there were so many stars and great actors unexpectantly around every corner. Chris Pratt, who plays Peter Quill, is a relatively unknown actor, or was before this film, and while watching Guardians of the Galaxy, this was my thought process; someone who I don’t know, he’s cool, I think I recognise him and when I came home I looked him up only to find he was in Bride Wars, another favourite of mine, where he worked alongside Anne Hathaway. He did a fantastic job as Peter Quill and I honestly cannot wait to see him in more films. Other amazing actors in Guardians of the Galaxy are; Zoe Saldana, Dave Bautista, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper, Karen Gillan, Lee Pace, John C. Reilly, Peter Serafinowicz and Glenn Close, although also as normal, that’s only to name a few.

TweetingRawr

P.S. If you see this in the cinema, ensure to watch past the credits.

Disclaimer – I do not own this poster, it is from: http://mashable.com/2014/05/16/marvel-guardians-of-the-galaxy-poster-trailer/
Leave a Reply

