Music: Jesus Christ Superstar and Phantom of the Opera

Standard

 

Today’s music recommendation is going to be Jesus Christ Superstar. This is because I like a lot of musicals and I always name Phantom of the Jesus Christ SuperstarOpera as my favourite for its atmosphere, it’s drama and the phantom himself and I absolutely love it’s music but I don’t necessarily love all the songs… so I’ve had to re-evaluate which is my favourite and I think Jesus Christ Superstar deserves the top spot in my musical lophantom-1ving heart. I love all of the music in Jesus Christ Superstar and I always sing along and I know all the words. The music tends to be my go to play on Spotify and I think it’s just crafted magnificently, not that Phantom isn’t, both Phantom of the Opera and Jesus Christ Superstar have brilliantly composed music and that’s thanks to the genius that is Andrew Lloyd Webber.

So I guess this post has become me raving about both musicals. Now I’ve had the pleasure to watch Phantom of the Opera in London at the West End and it was fantastic. I’ve also fallen in love with the 2013 arena tour version of Jesus Christ Superstar that we have on DVD. It is because of the incredible music that they’ve hooked me so well.

Before the rambling continues… Here’s a song from both shows:

 

If ever you have the chance to see either show, grab it!

TweetingRawr

Disclaimer – I do not own these pictures, they are from: http://now-here-this.timeout.com/2012/05/18/christ-almighty-%E2%80%98jesus-christ-superstar%E2%80%99-comes-to-town/ and http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/whats-on/music/jesus-christ-superstar-birmingham-nia-1717195 and http://www.uktheatretickets.co.uk/blog/index.php/547/phantom-of-the-opera-a-musical-that-has-everything

Leave a Reply

