Books: 5 Random Books

Standard

For today’s book recommendation I grabbed five random books from my bookcase…

Johnny Depp BookNumber One

 Johnny Depp: A Kind Of Illusion by Denis Meikle.

As you now know, and as I keep reminding you all, I am a massive Johnny Depp fan so it makes sense that I have a biography of the man. I remember buying this a few years ago, perhaps five years ago, from the HMV closest to where I live. There’s little more to say than that the book tells all about Johnny’s life right from the beginning to, well, about seven years ago when Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End was released.

Book of Spells BookNumber Two

The Book of Spells: A Private Prequel by Kate Brian.

‘The Billings School For Girls. Fine Breeding. Perfect Manners. Black Magic…’

This book I bought from my school’s book club magazine, if I remember rightly. Clearly this is a prequel to book series ‘Private’ also written by Kate Brian. I have to admit I haven’t read the series, I don’t even own them, although I want to. Anyway, I have read this without reading the series and I don’t think you need to read the series if you don’t want to. It’s been a long time since I’ve read this book that so many of the details have been lost from my memory and I cannot wait until I read it again. This is because I remember really loving the book, this is because it had so many different aspects to it; friendship, romance, secrets, mystery, magic, and thriller; it definitely keeps you on your toes.

I recommended this book to my friend, and she has a different reading taste than me so I was surprised when she also loved the book.

Number Three

Harry Potter Book Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling.

Who hasn’t read Harry Potter? Like really? But if you haven’t all I can do is shake my head in disappointment. I’m a massive fan of Harry Potter; books, films and merchandise, the lot. Now if you are completely ignorant of the Harry Potter series, here is a little summary. The books contain all the aspects of a good interesting story, they show the development of Harry, the development of his friendship with Ron and Hermione as well as his friends own personal quirks. As the series evolves there enters more romance, more suspense and more good vs. evil. It is all brilliantly written and the stories continue to be so popular. So if you haven’t read The Philosopher’s Stone or the rest of the series I really recommend it!

Doctor WhoNumber Four

Beautiful Chaos by Gary Russell (Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the BBC’s Doctor Who).

It appears a lot of these books have something to do with something I’m a massive fan of and are obsessed about. This is no different as if you’ve seen my Doctor Who centric Saturday blog two weeks ago you’d probably understand I’m a massive fan of Doctor Who. This book is one of a series of eleven, one book for every Doctor. I, being honest, haven’t read any of these books yet but I know that their writing is going to be good. The stories also have relevance to each Doctor’s eras with the Tenth Doctor, this book, teaming up with his companions Wilfred Mott and Donna to investigate ‘an ancient force from the Dark Times.’

Number Five

The Kite RunnerThe Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.

I had to read this book for my English Literature AS. It was one I dreaded because I felt it was something that I had no interest in but I reluctantly began reading it because I basically had no choice in the matter. Now I would say that you should be about A-Level/ adult age to understand the book and some aspects are not appropriate for younger audiences. I thought the bildungsroman genre of the book was brilliant, you can tell I studied it can’t you? Basically, it shows the redemptive journey of its protagonist; a heart breaking story. An absolutely brilliantly written book, I recommend you to read it.

I feel like my explanation is a little vague so here is the blurb from the book itself: ‘Afghanistan, 1975: Twelve-year-old Amir is desperate to win the local kite-fighting tournament and his loyal friend Hassan promises to help him. But neither of the boys can foresee what will happen to Hassan that afternoon, an event that is to shatter their lives. After the Russians invade and the family is forced to flee to America, Amir realises that one day he must return to Afghanistan under Taliban rule to find the one thing that his new world cannot grant him: redemption.’

TweetingRawr

Disclaimer – I do not own the pictures in this post, they are from: http://pinartarhan.com/blog/johnny-depp-a-kind-of-illusion/ , http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/kate+brian/the+book+of+spells+28ebook29/9496360/ , http://www.watt-evans.com/recommendedbooks2.html , http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/doctor-who-gary-russell/1111530180?ean=9781849905183 and http://www.flipkart.com/kite-runner-english/p/itmdz4pv8xftmesn

Leave a Reply

