Film: Enchanted

Standard

ad3a9bb7b384dda3967751bf4de82c6aI’ve recently been writing about Enchanted for my Creative Media work, so I thought if I can write about it for that, I can write about it for my blog too.

Over the summer I bought Enchanted from HMV as I had wanted to watch it for ages and had never got the opportunity (and bonus: it only cost £2.99 because I was buying other things). So, yay. I had bought it… but unfortunately it just sat on my desk while I chose to watch other things and then I went back to school so my time was limited. Over my first week back I started to feel ill and by the Friday I had to take the day off because I wasn’t feeling too good. I took this opportunity to just chill and watch films all day. Enchanted was one of these.

I absolutely love Enchanted. It’s about a beautiful princess, Giselle, and all she wants is to find her prince. But as soon as she finds him, she is banished by the evil queen from her animated land to our crazy reality of modern day New York City. Not only does she not understand the way our world works, she is lost, comically so, taking things very literally and getting upset by the fact she’s been ignored by most of the population of New York. This is until she finds a lawyer called Robert. Her entire world gets thrown around, again, when her view of love begins to change and as the IMDB summary finishes: ‘Giselle begins to fall in love with a charmingly flawed divorce lawyer who has come to her aid – even though she is already promised to a perfect fairy tale prince back home – she has to wonder: Can a storybook view of romance survive in the real world?’

The concept is very clever with a Disney Princess character falling into a world like ours and seeing how it all unfolds. I think this film is brilliant. It is the perfect family film and has such a feel good ending which, I’m sure by now, you all know I love.

This film also has a wonderful cast: Amy Adams as Giselle, Patrick Dempsey as Robert, James Marsden as Edward (Giselle’s prince), Timothy Spall as Nathaniel, Idina Menzel as Nancy and Susan Sarandon as the evil Queen, Narissa. In addition, Julie Andrews is The Narrator in a voice only part.

If you want something light and lovely to watch, I recommend Enchanted!

TweetingRawr

Disclaimer – I do not own the movie poster, it is from: http://www.picpicx.com/enchanted/
Leave a Reply

