Books: 5 Random books

Standard

For today’s book recommendation I, once again, grabbed five random books from my bookcase…

9781906772352.225x225-75Number One

James Bond: Goldeneye by John Gardner

I’m a fan of James Bond. I love the whole atmosphere around it, I love its concept and I love its ability to engage anyone. I picked up this book because of all of this and although I haven’t yet read it, I’m sure it’ll be brilliant even if it is not written by the original author, Ian Fleming, who of course was the genius behind it all. Gardner has written fifteen Bond novels based on the script of the films. I can’t wait to read this one and all of the others!39-clues-cover

Number Two

The Maze of Bones – Book one of the 39 Clues series by Rick Riordan.

I absolutely loved this book when I read it, which I admit was a long while ago. The story is about Amy and Dan Cahill who after a relative’s death find a whole hidden world unravelling before them. They need to go around the world hunting for the 39 clues to find out exactly how powerful their family is. I bought this book not realising that it was part of an entire 10 book series and thus I got to the end of reading it only to find out I was being left on a cliff hanger. I finally bought the 2nd and 3rd books but I haven’t read them since I’m waiting until I have the entire series to read the first again and to continue the rest of the story. I’m sure I’ll enjoy the entire story when I finally read it.

In addition, this book series runs alongside a trading card game. It always confused me but I thought it was very cbooks_11ool. Perhaps if you are intrigued and purchase the series you’ll manage to understand it better than me, since trading cards were never my strong suit when it moved from collecting into playing.

Number Three

VIII by H. M. Castor.

‘Destined for GREATNESS… tormented by DEMONS.’

Another interesting book that I have not read and yet I believe will be good and quite interesting. I found this book in Aldi, it was £1.99, and I thought it looked good because I‘ve been studying Henry VIII and the Tudor period in my History A-level work. Since I can’t describe the book I’ll insert the blurb: ‘VIII is the story of Hal: a young, handsome, gifted warrior, who believes he has been chosen to lead his people. But he is plagued by the ghosts of his family’s violent past and, once he rises to power, he turns to murder and rapacious cruelty. He is Henry VIII.’13035

Number Four

Bleach by Tite Kubo (Volume 1)

About six years ago I was obsessed with the anime Bleach. I was introduced to it through friends who were equally obsessed and we all watched the episodes on YouTube. Soon enough we found other things to be obsessed with and I fell out of love with anime in general. But I still appreciate manga, the print version of anime. I enjoyed reading the Bleach manga, although I’ve only ever read or owned volume 1 and volume 4. I will try to quote the blurb here: ‘Ichigo Kurosaki has always been able to see ghosts, but this ability doesn’t change his life nearly as much as his close encounter with Rukia Kuchiki, a Soul Reaper and member of the mysterious Soul Society. While fighting a Hollow, an evil spirit that preys on humans who display psychic energy, Rukia attempts to lend Ichigo some of her powers so that he can save his family; but much to her surprise, Ichigo absorbs every last drop of her energy. Now a full-fledged Soul Reaper himself, Ichigo quickly learns that the world he inhabits is one full of dangerous spirits and, along with Rukia-who is slowly regaining her powers-it’s Ichigo’s job to protect the innocent from Hollows and help the spirits themselves BuffyNovelColl1find peace.’

Number Five

Buffy the Vampire Slayer by John Vorkholt, Arthur Byron Cover and Alice Henderson.

Stories – Coyote Moon, Night of the Living Rerun and Portal Through Time.

‘In every generation, there is a chosen one. A slayer destined to protect the human race. She alone must fight the demons of hell. She alone must risk her life to stop the spread of evil. Buffy is the chosen one.’

We all know Buffy the Vampire Slayer is my favourite TV Show (or you should if you’ve been reading my blogs long enough) and so it was only natural that I would purchase this series of three BtVS novels. Each book has three stories within written by three different people. I think this first book is my favourite and I absolutely love the stories and of course I love the further development of my favourite characters. My only problem is that I wish these stories were made into episodes of the programme too.

The blurb for each story is: ‘In Coyote Moon, a typical night at the carnival becomes deadly as shape-shifters turn the amusement park into their own house of horrors. Buffy starts having past-life nightmares in Night of the Living Rerun, and must face her historic counterpart before the events of the past repeat in the present. In Portal through Time, Slayers over the centuries are in danger and Buffy must protect them in order to save her own life and legacy’.

TweetingRawr

Disclaimer – I do not these pictures, they are from: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/goldeneye/id672157889?mt=11, http://buffy.wikia.com/wiki/Buffy_the_Vampire_Slayer_(novels), http://www.booktrailersforreaders.com/The+39+Clues+Maze+of+Bones, http://murrayhill.wikispaces.com/Read_Review, http://neilspencephotography.com/book-covers.html.
Leave a Reply

