Food: Doug’s Microwave Cake

Standard

Is this a food recommendation? Or is this a YouTuber recommendation? I think it’ll be both because I want to recommend a wonderful microwave cake recipe, but it’s not mine. I learnt it from Doug Armstrong, a vlogger on YouTube.

Making cakes by using a microwave is not a new invention, but it’s becoming seemingly more popular. Or at least in my opinion it is. Microwave cakes are easier on ingredients, on time and on the portion sizes. You can make a single cake and not have the others lying around to tempt you when you’re feeling peckish.Brownie

The recipe is…

  • 2 tablespoons of melted butter
  • 2 tablespoons of water
  • ½ teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • A pinch of salt
  • 2 tablespoons of plain flour
  • 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder
  • 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, although Caster Sugar can be used instead.

And mix and microwave for approximately 1 minute. This timing may be different for different models and wattages. For 800w, which is what my microwave is, I usually have to microwave the mixture for 1 minute or 1 minute and 10 seconds.

To see this recipe in action, you should visit Doug’s channel and watch the video I’ll add below. You should also subscribe to his channel if you want more delectable treats especially cheesecakes, as these are his favourite. But he doesn’t just bake and make food on his channel, he also does challenges, vlogs, collabs and most popular are his life hacks videos.

Here is his channel ‘about’ blurb: ‘Hey I’m Doug Armstrong, a British vlogger living in London. I like to make fun-filled, creative videos with varying themes inspired by my love for entertainment, food/cooking and music. From Life Hacks and Bacon Pancakes to One Direction parodies and funny challenges, you’ll find a wide array of content centred around my life and I have grand plans this year for bigger & better videos than ever before! Oh and I love cheesecake a lot 😀 Join our community and become a Dougling by clicking the red ‘Subscribe’ button above 🙂 http://Youtube.com/Doug’.

 TweetingRawr

Leave a Reply

