A Letter to New Years

Standard

Dear New Years,

New Years, we have a complex relationship as you know. I used to be excited by the new  year, a new number, a new month… but right now I would rather ignore your existence, I’d rather ignore that this is a special occasion, I’m ignoring that people are partying tonight as I never really have much to do at this juncture.happy_new_year_2015_hq

But moving on from the fact of the event itself, moving into the New Year is scary. I have to leave behind the joy of Christmas and return to school, to work, where I can see only coursework that needs to be finished and exams that need to be sat and for neither I am ready. The new year brings the end of an era as I ready myself to leave my school and my friends and embark on that new ‘adventure’ called University.

It is always a bittersweet time as we transition from what we are used to into something new and unknown. This coming year is going to be extremely bittersweet and so as I come to January 1st I fear what I know is coming and hope that some goodness comes from what I don’t know is coming.

Although I step unwillingly to the New Year, I feel a slight excitement for all the good that I’m sure is to come. New Years, I hope you can give everyone the happiness that they deserve.

TweetingRawr

Ps. Hello! As with my Dear Christmas post, I wrote this in a very short period of time. I just tried to get my thoughts down and I know this isn’t written particularly well but I felt like I needed to post something a little more personal, a little bit more appropriate for this time. I want to wish you all a Happy New Year!

Disclaimer – I do not own the photo in this post it is from: http://inewyearimages.com/images-of-happy-new-year-2015-wishes-quotes-card-in-advance/
Inspiration for this post came from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eAy1UkOt9nY
Leave a Reply

