Film: Inkheart

Standard

‘Mo has the special talent to bring characters out of books. One night he brings out three characters from Inkheart, a story set in medieval times and filled with magical beings. Capricorn and Basta, two villains, and Dustfinger, a fire-eater. Now, 10 years later Meggie discovers the truth and it’s up to her to escape Capricorn’s evil grasp.’ This summary from Imdb explains Inkheart perfectly. film-inkheart-785246

This film is based on Cornelia Funke’s critically acclaimed novel, Inkheart. If you’ve been reading this blog for a little while now, you’ll know that I’ve been reading the Inkheart Trilogy. I watched the film before I read the books and despite several differences between the two I absolutely love both.

Inkheart is a wonderful, magical family film with such an interesting concept, portrayed by a great cast. I am biased in that I watched the film first, but I do feel like the roles in the film matched what I imagined while reading the book.

Paul Bettany plays a brilliant Dustfinger, my favourite character in both the book and the film. Brendan Fraser plays Mortimer, the bookbinder and a silvertongue. It’s interesting that the author of Inkheart actually envisaged Fraser when she wrote Mortimer; it was him and his voice that inspired the character that he was later to play in the film. Eliza Bennett plays Meggie, and if I’m to continue comparing the film to the book I must say Meggie in the film is older than Meggie in the book. As with Elinor, played by Helen Mirren, she is supposed to be overweight in the book but is far from that in the film. Despite these differences, I honestly believe Eliza and Helen are brilliant for the roles.

There’s little more to say about this film except for that I recommend it…

Enjoy!

TweetingRawr

Disclaimer – I do not own this picture, it is from: http://www.benandbarry.co.uk/2008/12/inkheart-film-review.html
Leave a Reply

