Book: Inkdeath

Standard

1905294840.01.LZZZZZZZI have now finished reading the Inkheart Trilogy by Cornelia Funke. Since I have written blog posts recommending the first two books of the trilogy, Inkheart and Inkspell, I thought it would only be appropriate to comment on the third book.

Before reading this post, I encourage you to read my posts on the former two books, as what I have to say here will only be a short addition to that.

Inkdeath continues exactly as Inkspell does. The narrative only moves on about two weeks and the structure of this book continues to match that of the previous books. Cornelia’s writing is as flawless as ever showing multiple points of view and following different characters in different settings in the book at the same time.

Inkdeath’s title is extremely apt. I’ll leave that to your imagination rather than ruin the story but it is worth noting that the narrative takes a slightly darker turn which is tense and exciting and at times, I have to admit, entirely heart wrenching.

The ending to this book, and therefore, the ending of the trilogy, is really quite nice. I enjoyed reading the ending profusely. Although, I don’t particularly think that all loose ends are tied up, or that the relationships are perfect between all the characters and I do believe that the story isn’t finished. In other words, I would enjoy reading more about the Inkworld. Despite this opinion, the ending does put the readers’ mind to rest and gives an outlook into the characters’ lives beyond this trilogy.

I thoroughly enjoyed this trilogy and I certainly recommend it even if you only read Inkheart (since I still believe that is the best book in the entire series). Thank you for reading!

TweetingRawr

PS. I would love if Cornelia Funke expanded the trilogy by including the Inkheart story from the book as a novel of it’s own and a story showing how Meggie grew up and got married and so on. Wishful thinking and all…

Disclaimer – I do not own the photo, it is from: http://www.storysnoops.com/detail.php?id=520

Leave a Reply

