Film: Paper Towns

Standard

downloadAs you can tell, if you’ve seen my posts regularly, I’ve been very lucky this season to go to the cinema to see many of the films I’ve wanted to see as soon as they came out. Paper Towns wasn’t really on that list, but thanks to a friend’s birthday, I was ‘forced’ to see it. However, I was genuinely interested to see the film since I’m a fan of John Green, who wrote the book Paper Towns, from watching his work online, and more specifically, on YouTube (VlogBrothers).

The film itself was really interesting. The story follows as this: Paper towns is a coming-of-age story centering on Quentin and his enigmatic neighbour Margo, who loved mysteries so much she became one. After taking him on an all-night adventure through their hometown, Margo suddenly disappears – leaving behind cryptic clues for Quentin to decipher. The search leads Quentin and his quick-witted friends on an exhilarating adventure that is equal parts hilarious and moving. Ultimately, to track down Margo, Quentin must find a deeper understanding of true friendship – and true love. (Written by ‘20th Century Fox’ and taken from IMDB, click here to see more).

While embodying typical traits of its genres: drama, mystery and romance, Paper Towns is unique in its portrayal of these genres. Its distinctiveness is, I think, a reason to explain why I’m struggling to know exactly what to write about the film in order to truly recommend it, especially for those who, like me, haven’t read the book and don’t know what to expect. All I can really say is that the film shows the importance of lifelong and spontaneous friendships while promoting the message of living in the moment, having fun with your life every single day rather than waiting and hoping for that perfect life years in the future.

It’s important to add that the film also reminds us to remember that people are just people, and as the quote goes ‘What a treacherous thing to believe a person is more than a person.’

Additionally, the cast is made of up of a varied a group of people I had never seen act before and I thought they were great. Paper Towns was cast so perfectly that the characters and the context, however crazy it seemed, just felt believable and so very realistic. The movie is also accompanied by a great soundtrack which leads me to leave a YouTube video below to showcase my favourite song from it. Please give it a listen:

Other than this, I have little else to say. I really recommend the film and hope you enjoy it if you go to it or read the book.

TweetingRawr

Disclaimer – I do not own the above image, it is from: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3622592/

Leave a Reply

