Film: Alice Through the Looking Glass

Standard

alicettlg_payoff_1-sht_v13_smLast week, my friend and I went to see Alice Through the Looking Glass. I was so excited since I have loved the original Alice in Wonderland film by Tim Burton. I had also been waiting a while for the new film to be made. Additionally, being a Johnny Depp fan, I was excited to see the Mad Hatter again.

They chose a great cast for this film, many of whom were returning from the original film. So as I said, Johnny Depp returned as the Mad Hatter ‘Tarrant’, but he was joined by Mia Wasikowska as Alice, Helena Bonham Carter as Iracebeth the ‘Red Queen’, Anne Hathaway as Mirana the ‘White Queen’, Matt Lucas as Tweedledee and Tweedledum, Lindsay Duncan as Helen Kingsleigh (Alice’s mother) and Leo Bill as Hamish. New to the cast were Sacha Baron Cohen as Time, Andrew Scott as Dr. Addison Bennett and Rhys Ifans as Zanik Hightopp (the Hatter’s father).

The story sees Alice travel through time to rescue the Mad Hatter’s family. The introduction of the character Time, played amazingly by Sacha Baron Cohen, and the concept of Time as a person was something I adored. It was really interesting and the film looked at Time in a thought-provoking way.

‘I used to think that time was a thief, stealing everything I loved. But I see now that you give before you take, and every day is a gift, every hour, every minute, every second.’ – Alice Kingsleigh (Alice Through the Looking Glass 2016).

While this film felt like it was missing something that the original had, in being an introduction to the characters and seeing their relationships form, it is still a fine addition to the story and I cannot wait to give it a re-watch.

See the trailer below:

TweetingRawr

Disclaimer – I do not own the above image, it is from: http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/news/657313-alice-through-the-looking-glass-poster
Leave a Reply

